Diamond Grading Made Simple

Posted on Friday, August 24th, 2018 at 8:23 am by Richard

So you have found the person of your dreams and now you’re ready to propose? You may have heard of the 4 C’s and have a general idea of what that entails, but we’re going to break it down for you so you truly understand what diamond grading is all about.

The first is carat, and we’re not talking about the orange vegetable you find at the farmer’s market! The carat refers to the weight of the diamond. For some, size may matter and be the most important quality in a diamond. The metric “carat” allows for precise measuring, for example, a carat is 200 milligrams. Therefore, each carat can be subdivided into 100 'points', which is why sometimes you may see a 1.5-carat diamond as the weight.

Next is clarity. The diamond’s clarity can range from flawless to visible imperfections. These imperfections are referred to as inclusions or blemishes. Some may be invisible to the naked eye and only a skilled jeweler with the proper instruments will be able to see the internal flaws, and others are quite visible to the eye resulting in a lower quality or grade.

Here is the clarity scale you want to be aware of when selecting a diamond:

  • FL - flawless
  • IF - inclusions aren’t visible in internally flawless diamonds under 10x magnification
  • VVS (1 or 2) - minuscule inclusions that are difficult to see under 10x magnification
  • VS (1 or 2) - minor inclusions that cannot be seen without 10x magnification
  • SI - inclusions are noticeable at 10x magnification
  • I1 - minor inclusions that may be visible to the naked eye

When talking about diamonds, the color actually refers to the absence of color in a diamond. The more colorless a diamond, the more valuable and desirable. Colors in diamonds can range from crystal clear to cloudy white to yellow (not to be confused with a canary diamond). A completely colorless diamond will get a grade of ‘D’. The diamond color chart can range from D to Z.

Lastly, we’ll discuss the cut of a diamond. Many may confuse this final ‘C’ as the actual shape of the diamond, and that’s not the case. The shape is completely a personal preference and not graded. Cut has to do with the facet’s sparkle, brilliance and quality of workmanship. Which is why our ‘Hearts On Fire’ collection is famous for its brilliant sparkle like no other.

For more information about diamond grading or finding the perfect engagement ring, stop by Goldstein’s Jewelers or check out our website at www.goldsteinsjewelry.com. Since 1879 we have provided quality diamonds, gemstones, and jewelry to our loyal customers. Find us on Facebook or give us a call at 251-460-9050 today.

© Southern View Media 2018: Reproduction without explicit permission is prohibited. All Rights Reserved. “We Put You Online So You Don't Get Left Behind.”